Look What I Made!

So there are things you learn when you have farm animals.  Things that should be intuitive and obvious and really not.

1. You will get over any fear you ever had of poop.

This means you will not even think about poop in your daily life, you will just assume that you have some form of it on you and it’s not a big deal.  It’s in your boots, it’s on your jeans, it’s probably under your nails (yeah a few of you just were grossed out) and it’s most definitely on your shirt.  That mud your stepping in?  Probably mostly poop.  Maybe some pee for good measure.  It’s just not a big thing after a while and you wash your jeans on Hot in the washer.  You also don’t touch your face with your hands, you learn to use your sleeve or shoulder to scratch that itch.

2. Hay gets everywhere.

It’s ridiculous, this stuff is better than velcro.  I started wearing overalls the other day (I know, totally not sexy at all) after my pants had fallen down around my knees for the umpteenth time (no belts don’t work for me because I have no actual hips to speak of) and you know what?  I gave in.  I decided I just didn’t want to deal with pulling up my jeans when I was feeding or running after the animals.  I’ve had these overalls ready for almost 6 months and I figured, it’s almost gardening season, what better time to not worry about your pants falling down when your bent over your veggies?  So I wore them and they are super handy.  They are men’s overalls which meant some tailoring and I have a huge superfluous zipper in front, and I might not be able to wait till the last-minute when I have to pee, but other than that I dig em for around the barn.  What I don’t dig?  The moment I found that I had a bit of hay in my underwear.  Yeah, that was probably too much information but it just goes to show hay gets EVERYWHERE.

3. You will have things that you can’t throw away but can’t recycle either.

Such as bailing twine (which is not twine but plastic) and feed bags.  I think they have a recycle program for the feed bags at the farm store but I’m not sure how much of those bags are actually recycled.  They are pretty heavy-duty poly plastic so maybe it works out perfect but I’m somehow a little doubtful of the process.  It’s like when you find out that all that glass your recycling isn’t good enough to be recycled so it’s crushed and sent to the dump.  Yeah, that makes me upset more than just about anything.

SO! I went on a soul-searching journey (for like 2 seconds) and wondered what I could do with my copious empty feed sacks.  Then it hit me….I could repurpose them!

I bring to you the Feed Sack Grocery Bag!  My bags are thoughtfully constructed so that they are sturdy, easy to carry, just the right size (have you ever seen those stupid too small grocery bags that won’t carry a gallon of milk?! DUMB!) and they are recycled from my very own feed bags.  I have sewn them up in a way that they fold completely flat for easy storage and also?  They can hold 40LBS of groceries without even a whimper.

Here my lovely assistant demonstrates how the bag isn’t even phased in the lease when it’s holding 20lbs of milk jugs filled with water.  I tested it for a greater weight but seriously, who’s shoving 40lbs of groceries into one bag?  I know I could easily lift it but I know a lot of other women who can’t.  So I think 20lbs is a good weight for the average grocery goer.

Seeming was really important to me.  I wanted to make sure that they would hold up and look nice.  The feed sacks already have natural box seems so I emphasized those on the sides after I’d cut out and sewn up the bottom.  They stand nicely on their own whether filled or empty.

Here it is on my composter which wasn’t the best stage I thought at first, but then, it is a recycled bag on a composter.  It kinda goes right?

We are not limited to only chicken feed either!  I have goat bags, turkey bags, and general livestock bags.  There is something different about the texture of the goat bags.  Maybe they are more highly recycled than the other two?  They are a little more cloth like than the chicken crumbles.

If you would like your very own bag I have put some up for sale on my etsy shop.  They are $3.50 a piece and all proceeds will be dumped back into the animals themselves 🙂

5 thoughts on “Look What I Made!

  1. Very nice! I especially like the pinched side-seams. Makes the bags look really crisp. Always fantasized about doing something similar, but then found organic chicken chow and a duck/goose chow that all came in 50# paper sacks. Those, thankfully, can be recycled.

    When I do find plastic feed bags blowing about (sometimes bags get away from the other properties around here), I like to split the bags flat/open and use as tarps to line the back of the wagon. Great for keeping moisture, soil, hay (or whatever I’m hauling) off the upholstery.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

