Video Game Inspiration

I’m not really sure where other knitters get their inspiration.  I’m really bad at reading interviews because the questions asked don’t usually interest me.  Plus the back and forth between interviewer and interviewee isn’t interesting as it would be if it were an actual dialogue or spiced up.  With out the voice I’m just not interested and I think that’s what  a lot of these articles miss, the voice.  Thus, I don’t know if I might be kind of a freak in this regard but I think my husband’s video games are just absolutely beautiful.  The work they put into character design and costume design is just mind-blowing.  This kind of work usually ends at the gamer because who else sees it?

Well I do.  The wife of the video gamer.  If the game is interesting enough it’s almost like a movie I’ve watched a lot of times.  That means I can knit and hang out with out actually paying attention.   I’ve watched my husband play his way through the Assassin’s Creed games and I’ve always loved the costuming.

So this probably wasn’t a huge stretch…

I tried to take the idea of the cloak (yes, even the beak) and incorporate it into a wearable sweater.  My goal was something different with out being costume-y.

I didn’t try to replicate the exact cloak but I did try to get the FEEL of it.  The mystery, the armor.  I have to tell you people, I am amazed by myself and excited about the finished sweater.

Right now I am furiously writing up the pattern for the sweater, then it will go to my amazing tech editor, then to testers.  I think with so many details I really want to get this tested.  I have to say, I was unsure of the shoulder flap, at first it reminded me of a cowboy’s duster but after I blocked it and seamed it to the sweater I have to tell you I love it.

The thing I think I love the most is that you can wear it as a regular sweater and it looks beautiful, but then you can throw up the hood and hide way back in it’s folds and it’s instant mystery.

I used twisted stitches to mimic gauntlets and an applied icord for the button band.  Right now I’m knitting up my own and tweaking the pattern as I go.  As soon as I’m done I’m sure it will be ready for testers.  Maybe another month.  If anyone here is interested in testing I’ll post up the link to join along, maybe I’ll even have this pattern free for a month for a knit along.  Anyone game?

Next up…Fabel 3 (Thanks Aimee!)

10 thoughts on “Video Game Inspiration

  1. Yes, yes, yes, to all of the above! You KNOW how excited I am about this. I would offer myself as a test knitter, but I’ve never done anything on this grand a scale, and I’m probably much too slow. But a KAL? I’m IN.

    You did an absolutely incredible job designing this, and I’m so glad you’ve amazed yourself. From one backseat gamer to another – I think you’ve got a pretty cool niche going here.

    And I cannot wait to see what you come up with for Fable III.

  2. I don’t play video games myself. I blame it on lack of practice during my formative years (my father doesn’t believe in television and he wasn’t persuaded into video games til I was half way through highschool and interested in books and knitting. ) But, I do enjoy watching the games being played, especially games that play like movies, arkham city, arkham asylum, and assasin’s creed being some that come to mind. And I do so like the hooded cloak. Yours is a wonderful adaptation.

    Like Aimee, I’m looking at my upcoming schedule and I’m not sure I ought to commit to test knitting, but I’m totally down for a knit a long to help pad the projects page on ravelry. 😀

  3. What a stunning sweater. And while I can absolutely see the connection to your inspiration. I feel like I could wear it without needing to grab my bow and arrow and go lurk in the woods. I love it, and would totally knit it. Please write up the pattern.

  4. Completely awesome. I love the inspiration and that it’s not exactly like the cloak from the game but I think you captured the feel perfectly. It’s subtle but still mysterious. Beautiful!

  5. I’m so glad you wrote this post…. now I get it.

    I am not by any s t r e t c h of the imagination a “gamer” although I took my turn at Myst, Res. Evil and all the Croft romps. I just don’t have time anymore for this stuff. BUT, I can appreciate why others are attracted. I have to admit that, although I liked the look of this coat, I was not drawn in…. until now. As you know P, I am a huge fan of your designs. This coat is pretty darned amazing.

  6. I just found your blog through a Google search and goodness! I adore your Assassin’s Creed sweater! And Fable? Really? I’m off to check out the rest of your blog. Please do let me know where I can find/buy/beg the pattern for this sweater! (:

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

