Working Away

I’ve been working quietly behind the scenes here lately but there’s not a lot of progress that I can show for it.  I’m waiting for my Outlaw Sweater to come back from the tech editor (which should happen this week), I’m waiting for my testers to find the next problem with my Coastal Waters Shawl, and I’m writing up the pattern for my Assassin’s Creed sweater.  In the midst of all this I’m still writing and getting some of my work together to send to agents (which is incredibly hard for me) and trying also to knit.  Throw in the farming and I’m busy even if I don’t think I am 🙂

This sweater is just waiting for me to start the button band/edging and block it.  I think once it’s blocked the yarn will relax and bloom beautifully.  I want to start knitting one for me but I’m really trying to be good and knit on projects I’ve promised other people.

I put a lot more details into this knit than I usually would but I also tried to keep them subtle.  I really like the effect and I won’t lie, I’m a little bit proud of this sweater.

I have testers currently going through my Coastal Waters Shawl and picking apart all my mistakes. As much as I hate that I make mistakes they are a really fantastic group of knitters who don’t hesitate to point out that something isn’t working.  In the end I know I’ll have a flawless pattern 🙂

Then of course there’s this. 🙂 I was published in Knit Magazine issue 45.  I can’t even tell you how excited I was to see my work in print!

I’ve submitted patterns to Knitty, Interweave, and Knitscene but this is the first time I’ve been accepted and you know what?  It’s a huge ego boost for sure.

I’ve got some more design ideas clinking around.  One for sure is my circle sweater I knit 2 years ago.

I actually knit this sweater, then I copied it for my friend Carol and never wrote up a pattern though it was fairly well received on Ravelry.  Honestly I think my pattern writing skills have just improved enough to finally do it.  Plus this sweater is so delish I think lots of knitters will want it. 🙂

10 thoughts on “Working Away

  1. Yes, yes, and yes!

    Yes, you should be VERY proud of that first sweater – it’s gorg!

    Yes, you are AWESOME, congrats on being published! That’s so freaking exciting…

    Yes, write up the circle sweater!

    🙂

  2. Wow! You are busy! Congrats on getting the pattern in print, that is awesome! The Assasin’s Creed sweater looks really neat. I like all the details from the picture but it doesn’t look like too much.
    The new blog design looks great!

  3. Congratulations on being published! You have great design ideas. I hope your Assassin’s Creed sweater will be in big sizes as well. My son plays that game, and I saw an awesome music videos of it. The more you write patterns, the better you’ll get. It’s not easy. You should keep doing it! Have you seen how many people favored my Coastal Waters shawl. Many told me they like not only the colors, but the interesting texture. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

