Chinese Gardens or Monica Monday

HA! OK I totally just amused myself with that title (and I just randomly spelled ‘amused’ as ‘amuzed’ nice.)  Anywho I met up with Monica on Monday.  We drifted first trough Powell’s Books without finding anything needing to be bought then wandered down to the Chinese Garden.  After seeing the Japanese Gardens I think I might have expected more.  We should have visited them in reverse order.  The Japanese Gardens are stunning in their green spaces, their perfectly pruned trees, their planning and thoughtfulness and just drop dead beauty.

The Chinese Gardens are, well, not the same.  It centered on the buildings rather than the plants.  I saw quite a few plants I couldn’t quite think belonged in a Chinese Garden.  That said it was very pretty.

This is one of my favorite pictures from the day.  I love that Monica never seems to notice when I’m photo stocking her.  She’s so pretty I can’t help it.

 

When you roam the paths of the Japanese Garden you forget you are in the city.  You are surrounded for ancient tall Douglas Firs.  In the Chinese Garden you can’t help but see the contradictions of traditional vs contemporary.  I wish the newer buildings were more interesting, I might have actually gotten on the ground to get them all in the shot if they were.

And since there really wasn’t any super interesting plant shots from the gardens (odd right?) here are a few from my own pasture.  Here come the weeds!

I like to catch the buds right before they bloom.  I think they are probably more beautiful than when they actually explode into color.

This is probably my favorite color of yellow ever.

One of my favorite things to do is wander through the back pasture.  NOw the husband has finished fencing I don’t have to worry about losing the dog through the barbed wire fence (which means no more ripped jeans or sweat shirts as I struggled after him).

In knitting news I have started a new pair of socks…

I dig em.  Also my amazing testers are picking through my Weave It shawl pattern and are helping me write it so that it is easier to understand and cleaner. 

I’m giving it another try in submitting to knitty (not the above pattern).  I don’t know how it’s going to turn out, most likely I will be turned down again but you can’t win if you don’t play.

One thought on “Chinese Gardens or Monica Monday

  1. Aww! you’re so sweet! 🙂 I LOVE how your photos turned out.. And I totally agree with you regarding chinese gardens vs japanese gardens. It’s so awesome to have a shooting buddy!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

