We Have Chickens

It it not something that came to us lightly.  I have in innate fear of drowning in eggs.  Eggs which I’m slightly allergic to and can’t eat unless they are baked in something.  So upon our last trip to our local Wilco I really looked at the chicken chart and all the chicks.  Digging further we ended up going home with 7 Cornish mix chickens.  These are not egg chickens but roasting chickens.  I know not everyone has the stomach for this, especially with the below cutie pictures of fluffy little chicks. 

These little wonderful chicks will reach full maturity in 6 weeks and then will be ready to become dinner.  The time commitment was really the bit that tipped me over the edge.  I don’t like to wait, I have little patience but 6 weeks is very doable.  See the Mr and I are delving further and further into what city life has cast aside.  We are researching more what food should be, how it should be raised, and what we should feed to our food. 

This isn’t to say that supermarket mass produced food is bad, it isn’t.  We NEED that food.  I am just taking a little bit of that production back into my own hands.  I know that not a lot of people who don’t live on farms could raise animals for food, but you’ve probably never met an unfriendly chicken (and they are a nickel a thousand) or been butted by a goat, or peed on by a sheep or watch a cow try to figure out an apple and fail so completely.  There are wonderful farm animal pets, but they are fewer than people think.

Above is our set up till the birds are old enough to be in the coop.  We don’t need two heat lamps and only one is on but we uesd two to quickly bring the temp in the tub up to 96*.  You might see my little temerature gage on the side there, it helps me regulate the temp and tells me if I need to raise or lower the heat lamp.  If you are thinking about getting chicks I suggest you already have your set up going before you get the chicks. It helps if you know where you are going to keep them, you have food, bedding, feeders, and waterers ready so you just need to add birds.

So yes, 6 weeks I will be chronicling the growth of our 7 chicken nuggets.  I will share what I learn as a first time chicken raiser with complete honesty (and maybe stupidity) so that others if they choose may follow in our footsteps.

One thought on “We Have Chickens

  1. I have an aunt who has chickens sometimes. When I was a kid we went to visit her in Utah and she had I think 5 chicks. They all had names like Rotisserie, Cordon Bleu, and Sou Vie. It was really funny! Good luck with the chicks!

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.