Too Many Topics

The days have been a blur of activity but I can’t quite remember what happened in all of them 😉  I know that last Friday was my good friend Nancie’s birthday and we all surprised her at a local restaurant.  The reaction was classic.

Nancie

Nancie

After a delish lunch at Hozy’s we all caravan-ed over to Lisa’s place for some more birthday celebration – knitters style 😉

Lisa & Becky

Lisa & Becky

Then after that we had some brownie Sundays and they were fantastic!

Saturday the Mr and I drove down (up? sideways?) to Valley Village to visit a friend we don’t get to see all that often.  Will and I hung out all the time (and I mean every damn day) when we both lived in Minnesota and it’s just a freak chance that we moved out to California with in months of each other and actually live with in driving distance.

Reflections of Me

Reflections of Me

I finally got a picture that I have been trying for since about this time last year.  I’m a little obsessed with reflective surfaces, especially if they are non-traditional ones.  So last year we passed by a huge tanker truck and I noticed that we were reflected awesomely in it’s hubcaps.  A new obsession was born but it was limited.  Tanker trucks are most usually spotted on the 101 & 5 out here and they aren’t all that prevalent on the road in Ventura.  So I knew my best chance of catching one was on the way to Will’s house.  Bingo.  Also I have to be the passenger for obvious reasons (I hope they are obvious anyways). I have totally been known to take pictures WHILE driving but not on the 101 going into LA thank you very much.  That’s just stupid.

Another accomplishment of epic proportions.

My Word Count

My Word Count

I still can’t quite believe that I’ve written over 200,000 words in one piece that actually relate to each other (That’s 358 pages for those of you that wanted to know).  I printed my story out so far and had it bound at kinkos so that I would be able to give it to people to read and it would be easier than on the computer and get their opinion.  Problem with that is that I’m still really embarrassed that I’m writing a story at all, so I doubt anyone will ever even see it.  Every time I even mention it in public I hear my parents voices “get a real job” because art school or anything fun won’t pay the bills.  This was a reoccurring theme when I was growing up which is maybe why I get nasty jealous when other can totally make a living at something awesome.   Either way, I think that I’m just about 1/2 way done (but when haven’t I said that before?)

In other news the Mr has Thursday and Friday of this week off (which totally rocks hard core) and we are heading up to Lompoc to Ranch Of The Oaks this weekend.  They are having a craft fair up in Lompoc and if you want to stop by to visit alpacas please do stop by! 🙂  The Mr and I will be there all weekend, I’m offering impromptu knitting help, instructions on knitting in the round, socks, and other techniques.  I’m going to force the Mr to bring his wheel so both of us will be fibery all weekend.

My birthday is a week from tomorrow. I’m not sure how that even happened or how I managed to be 27.  It’s weird, not unpleasant but just different.  Of course I’m also one of those odd ball people who is really looking forward to my 30’s and 40’s.  What can I say? I’m a freak!  Those of you at Anacapa Fine Yarns on Thursdays I will be bringing cupcakes (home made) to knitting so be there or be square. 😛

I’m still knitting the Apres` Surf Hoodie. I have finished both the front and back and now am almost done with 1 sleeve.  This is definitely going to be one of my favorite sweaters (I hope!)  Amazingly the weather here has been so gloomy (june gloom) that I could probably even wear it soon if I finished it fast enough!

And just as a reminder for this weekend!

3 thoughts on “Too Many Topics

  1. Pretty good post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say
    that I’ve really enjoyed reading your posts. Anyway
    I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!

  2. Surely you must know how truly blessed you are to have a guy that not only supports your hobby, but also participates in it! What a guy! I swear everytime I even try talking to my guy about a technique, a fiber, needles, or whatnot his eyes glaze over.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

