I had such a lovely weekend that sometimes I am truly overwhelmed by how blessed I am to have married into such a fantastic group of people.  We drove up to the Mr’s grandparents Saturday and though we had to play nice with the only unsavory element of his family it was really nice.  I have to tell you once again, if you do not know someone well enough to know why they do not have children after almost six years of marriage, you do not know them well enough to ask.  It is the rudest question on the face of the earth.  I do not ask you “why did you feel the need to have babies to justify your marriage” why? because it’s rude, yes? Just keep that in mind if you think this is a good small talk starter.

In other news I’ve been knitting like mad (is there any other way to knit?) and have finished the back and half of the front of the apres surf hoodie except I’ve got no pictures. Maybe tomorrow if the sun actually comes out.

I have supplemented my summer reading with some good gore.  I dig the concepts of this book and at times it’s been funny but there are a few things right off the bat that I’m not a fan of.

ORCS now with women!

ORCS now with women!

1) the sentence structure seems to be lacking somewhat.  The sentences are themselves fine, but the author doesn’t seem to fully employ a compound sentence.  I’m not sure if this is the editor’s fault or the work of the writer.  Each sentence is between 12 and 14 words with few exceptions.  Being a big fan of Tad and Terry and Patrick ect (Williams, Prachet & Rothfus for those of you just joining us) I need long drawn out page long sentences. 

Problem (for me) #2 is um, well there’s sex.  I don’t read sex, any type of sex, which makes this book a little awkward at times.  This book should come with a warning “FOR ADULTS ONLY” because, yeah, ew.  (and it’s not at all that I’m a prude, I just don’t care to read about ‘manhoods’ and the like).

Next for the knitters and spinners.  June 27-28 you all want to be in Lompoc CA.

One thought on “

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

