Knitterly Monday

So my first full week of being unemployed as come to an end. I can fully attest to how draining it can be now.  Before I would always wonder why people didn’t just get a job, but now that I am here and I am looking for a specific kind of job, well, now I understand more fully.  I spent a full day just registering to sites so that I could submit my resume.

I’ve applied to a few different types of jobs, nothing insane because I know there are things I won’t do and things I can’t do.  I won’t work mind numbing manual labor (that’s not saying I won’t work with my hands, it just has to be stimulating), I won’t sell, I won’t work in a restaurant.  Things I can’t do include accounting,  and IT.  If I could go back to my post high school self I would have whispered this nugget of brilliant.  “Dear Preita, you should double major in accounting and computer science. Then you will never ever be unemployed”

I took per the Mr’s insistence 3 full work days off last week.  3 days where I did not go completely nuts looking for a job.   I slept in till 8 am, had coffee, watched Good Morning America and had many more doctors appointments than I’ve had in the last year.  I had an ultra sound, blood tests and a consultation.  I really love my new doctor and feel so much better than I have in months.  I feel so much better than I have in at least the last 6 months and the only thing that has changed is that I am no longer employed at my previous company.  Two days after being laid off I slept through the night and awoke feeling refreshed for the first time.   I can’t think that isn’t a coincidence.

I have caught up on my Unitarian Universalist podcasts and have had my heart filled by my family and friends. I have written and knitted and found renewed strength.   I spent the week with my niece and am once again amazed how she and her mom always seem to be around when they are needed most.  How at some of the hardest times in my life that little girl has pushed those fears away with her laughter and unbiased bottomless love and healed my heart.  I have received heartfelt much appreicated emails and notes from friends, some of whom I have never met in person and feel fortified by each and every one.

So the hunt is officially on and we are tracking that crafty fox.  In my spare time (because I have been having a normal work day, on the computer by 6:30 to look for jobs, an hour for lunch and done for the day at 5) I have spun the rest of my yellow merino.

Yellow Merino Handspun

Yellow Merino Handspun

I spun this looser and thicker than I normally would then plied it tight.  I really love the smooshiness of the end result.  I still have to work on spinning a bit thicker, I feel really out of control with it.

Yellow Merino Detail

Yellow Merino Detail

The Mr also finished spinning some yarn.

The Mrs handspun Zoo Blend

The Mr's handspun "Zoo Blend"

This was 4 oz of Ranch Of The Oaks “Zoo Blend” which means it had quite a few different animals in there.  Llama, alpaca, Icelandic wool & I think maybe some curly the angora goat.  🙂 Either way it’s totally delish and so damn soft.  I think it needs to be some mittens, this yarn should be close to the skin and I think also that it will be super duper warm.

I also finished one Froot Loop sock. I always loved the pattern since I first saw it on Knitty but the pattern looked complicated and though I love cabled socks I rarely knit them because I can’t stand the thought of a cable needle on socks.  This one should have had a exclimation at the top proclaiming “No Cabling Required!”

Froot Loop Sock

Froot Loop Sock

 We are also dog sitting again which actually works out well since I’m off work.  I only wish I would have had the MIL set up a grooming appointment for the dog so I could have taken him while they were gone. 

Next weekend we are joining the parents up at June Lake next to Yosemite National Park. I can’t tell you how excited I am.  They rented a two bedroom cabin and I heard tell there is fishing equipment involved!  I know absolutely nothing about fishing other than 1. I love it & 2. I will catch a larger fish than you.  That’s the proven method and it usually does drive people nuts as I cast willy nilly and sometimes with out even bait 🙂  What it will allow is some great pictures, some excellent father son time for the Mr & his dad and lots of smiles. I really can’t wait.

Bob says Howdy, he is helping me apply for jobs & is polishing up his typing skills in the process.

Bob says Howdy, he is helping me apply for jobs & is polishing up his typing skills in the process.

4 thoughts on “Knitterly Monday

  1. I’ve been thinking about you 🙂

    It made me happy to read about your ‘support system’ there…all the family members and PETS at your side!

    Plus, you are so focused…you have a work schedule at home for goodness sakes! I know it will happen for you soon, that work will appear in no time 🙂

    OH & PLUS!

    Your spinning is GORRR-GEOUS…I love the yellow yarn – it looks xtradelicious & cuddly 🙂

    Hugs to you and Bob (btw his macro is awesome!)

    -Kent

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

