2 To Keep You Warm

Two FO’s. I’ve been plowing away at my UFO pile, mainly because it makes me uncomfortable to have so many UFO’s laying around, but mostly because if I finish them asap I can wear them in Minnesota in two weeks.

First off, yet another Saddle Shoulder EZ sweater (and this one I actually didn’t have a hissy fit over and cry about raising the back. This time I trusted EZ and it all worked out!)

Those of you with better monitors will notice a stripe, a stripe which vexes me.

Those of you with better monitors will notice a stripe, a stripe which vexes me.

Pattern: Seamless Saddle Shoulder Sweater (SSSS)
Yarn: Frog Tree Alpaca Sport
Needles: US 3 through out (yes it got tedious)
Verdict: This sweater fits me perfectly, it’s exactly how I want all my sweaters to fit, why? Because I was honest about what kind of positive ease I actually wanted. I measured the crap out of a favorite cashmere Old Navy sweater and copied it.

This sweater makes me realize that 1. I REALLY need to dye my hair & 2. I have line backer shoulders!

This sweater makes me realize that 1. I REALLY need to dye my hair & 2. I have line backer shoulders!

Those of you with better monitors will notice something fishy going on across the front of my sweater.  In the general bust area there seems to be a stripe of different color. Well yes, there is. I did not personally notice this until I was 1/2 way through the yoke.  It seems that I had a random  skein of the wrong colorway. 

Let this be a lesson to you!  Just because you buy a bag of all the same yarn on sale DO NOT assume that it’s all the same colorway or dye lot. Thankfully the stripe in person looks intentional. So it’s now a (get your finger quotes out!) “design element”.

The next FO  is a huge thick cabled scarf.

This scarf could protect you from nuclear fall out. Seriously.

This scarf could protect you from nuclear fall out. Seriously.

Pattern: None, I used a cable pattern (open trellis I think) from Vogue Stitchonary Vol 2.
Yarn: Lambs Pride Worsted 4 skeins
Needles: US 8’s throughout.

This sucker is amazing. It’s a good solid 3 pounds of scarf. It’s so thick and tightly cabled that I do believe it would save you from a nuclear blast. I totally am in love with lambs pride and if I lived back in the Midwest I would have an entire sweater collection out of it. Why? Well the mohair component is amazing. I know a lot of people don’t like mohair, but the knits I have out of Lambs Pride have stood the test of camping in the rain. I have worn sweaters out in the drizzle and have never gotten wet, the hairs collect the drops and keep them away from the main sweater. Seriously amazing stuff.

Stay tuned kidos! I’m going to have a stash busting contest in the next week. Yarn  (Lots of yarn!) will be offered as prizes.  I will announce the rules later this week.

5 thoughts on “2 To Keep You Warm

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

