FO Of A Different Sort

This weekend I actually accomplished the things that I set out to do. Crazy, right?  How often does that actually happen anyway? Almost never if you are me.  I managed to get a haircut, clean the guest bedroom out, knit a little (though not much) and spin A LOT.

To prove to you how monumental this was here is a before of the guest bedroom.

Dont judge me, you all know you have a room in your house just like this.

Don't judge me, you all know you have a room in your house just like this.

And to show you what we ended up with at the end of the weekend….

Amazingly clean.

Amazingly clean.

Yes, I realize we are missing a box spring, we got that last night from the parents house (they were borrowing it for one of their beds). I think I might hang up some art in this room too because we have SO MUCH of it! Also, I found that this is probably one of the coolest rooms in the house even with that sun peeking in. And when you open the sliding glass doors (yes every bedroom in our house has sliding glass doors) the breeze is amazingly fantastic.

So Rebecca, as soon as I wash the linens this bed will be all set for you! 🙂 I also hear it’s an amazingly comfortable bed too.

What else did I do? I spun yarn. Actually I spun a bobbin worth of singles & plied it to a languishing bobbin I had full since before Christmas. Did I mention that my awesome spinning teacher who had rented the Mr & I the kiwi’s decided to sell them? To us! 🙂 Two for the price of one AND a jumbo flyer! (Which worked out completely awesome when I plied all this sock yarn!)

Who needs pearls when you have handspun?

Who needs pearls when you have handspun?

That would be 400+ yards of BFL 2 ply. I managed to ply this on to ONE bobbin. If you do not have a jumbo flyer, go make the investment. It makes it so much more fun.

BFL Skeined up (unblocked)

BFL Skeined up (unblocked)

This yarn is going to be dyed tonight.  I’ve thought about dying the roving directly, but honestly? It scares the crap out of me. I am more ok with dying yarn because I’m not so worried about it felting. Also? My MIL gave me her old crock pot (I bought her a brand spanking awesomely new one for Christmas only to find out it’s the same one I have! LOL No wonder I liked it so much!) so if all turns out well I will have FO dyed pictures to show you by the end of the week.

Yes, it is a big skein & Im seriously happy!

Yes, it is a big skein & I'm seriously happy!

It’s a big skein 🙂 I’m really proud of this. You have to understand too that this is only my 3rd or 4th atempt at spinning to completion.

On a completely different subject I am boycotting Vogue Knitting from this point forward. It kind of breaks my heart a little because there are some very talented designers who seem to favor this magazine over Interweave Knits.  But I can’t do it, even if it means missing out on a beautiful pattern.

Why am I boycotting Vogue Knitting?  Dear reader, I am boycotting because of the sizing.  I don’t know how a 40″ bust became an XL, but it is, and now it’s the largest size offered by many of the designers in Vogue. I’m not sure if this is because Vogue Knitting has that as a guideline or if it’s the designers themselves.  Either way I want to say “Shame on you”.  Seriously, I’m not being sarcastic at all either.

Shame on you for not doing the math, shame on you for not sizing up the pattern further.  These are items that we are making for ourselves, that we as knitters are constructing with our own two hands.  By not sizing it further than a 40-42″ you have alienated more than half the knitting population. 

I am pretty damn disgusted at this whole sizing issue. I don’t know why it should even be an issue, but it is. Heaven forbid the sizing go past a 52″, because you know, no woman would possibly want to knit herself a cute sweater that is past that size, cause you know, if your bust is that big you wear nothing but mumus.

So I’m making a stand because I believe that no woman should ever be made to feel less than because of a number, a size ,or some jackass’s preconceived notion of what beautiful is. So farewell Vogue Knitting you are now joining the ranks of Rowan in that I will not even thumb through your glossy pages.  

On a side note, why do men’s sweater sizes stop so small? I married a man sized man. He is no little waif.  He played defence in football and goalie in lacrosse. He’s solid and can lift more than most other men weigh, and I’ve yet to find a sweater pattern I can knit strait from the numbers for him. They don’t even come close to his chest size which I think is a pity since I grew up in the Midwest and I know that there are a lot more men his size and shape than those with a 40″ chest.

I’m currently almost finished designing a sweater for the Mr.  I will be writing a pattern for it and publishing it here.   If you are intrested, stay tuned.

11 thoughts on “FO Of A Different Sort

  1. Holy Guacamole Batman! Great job with the bedroom! It looks great! All that work and yummy handspun, too! Bravo! Also, Hear! Hear! for the stand against Vogue Knitting! Many people began knitting because they couldn’t find cute clothes that fit them. Patterns need to reflect ALL body types.

  2. I’m going to put the blame squarely on the publishers, and not the designers. I hope it’s not unfair, but I think they are the ones who decide what range of sizes to offer, at least in my personal experience. I totally agree with you, it is a shame that a wider range of sizes is not offered. Write to them!!

  3. Just goes to show that there are sooo many sizes out there.
    I have yet to find a men’s sweater pattern I wouldn’t have to resize to fit my brother or my bf who are both much smaller than a 40″. My bf’s chest is around 35″-36″ and I just don’t think 4″ of ease is really a good fit for him.
    That said it’s still a much easier adjustment than trying to upsize without changing yarn weight or completely rewriting a pattern!

  4. Congrats on the spinning.. It looks awsome.. Glad you got the wheels..
    Great job on cleaning.. Ya wanna come over here next??? he he he….

    Looking forward to your sweater design..
    Hope to see you soon…

  5. Hmmm… I didn’t notice that on the Vogue. Will have to look into it. It is important.

    Love the spinning. I’m so jealous. I’ve not even tried a wheel.

    And the room. Very inspirational. I need to do that in our garage. Well not putting a bed in. That would be weird.

  6. Wow. Wherever did you put all that stuff? You have a basement, right? That is where we hid all of our junk during the holidays when people were visiting.

    Good for you to grab the bull by the horns and design your man a sweater that fits. It’s the very reason I started to sew (and knit) our clothes.

    Of course, I love your yarn!

  7. Holy crap! That’s what I was supposed to do this weekend (clean for my rummage sale) but instead I worked on swatches for Marty’s sweater which needs to be adjusted for his size. I agree. There is nothing more disheartening than to rush to the specs of something you love and find it’s not in your size. Just like the controversy over the size of the runway models. Are the designers at fault or the editors?

    By the way the room looks great. LOVE the bed.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

