Thermal

Remember the CONTESTends tonight when my Mr pulls a number out of a hat. That corresponding comment gets a huge prize 🙂

What can I say about the Thermal that hasn’t already been said? When this pattern first came out I thought it was brilliant, right up my ally & wonderful. So I knit it.  This was about 1.5 years ago and I had been knitting at the time for exactly 2 months. Let me tell you, it was after this sweater that I learned about gage.  The sweater came out HUGE. Not only huge, but it was too short, too wide & the sleeves were too long. It was a mess. I was heart broken.

So I frogged it, and RESTARTED it immediately. This time I checked my gage (at least I thought I did) and cast on for a MUCH smaller size. I finished it again, and once again, it was TOO BIG.  So I threw this pattern to the bottom of my to-do list & moved on.

Earlier this month I had seen a few nice in progress thermals from my friends on Ravelry. So heartened I cast on again (with newly purchased gloss yarn). My gage was. still. off. Drastically. I had a decision to make. Go down to a size 0 or cast on a smaller size. I did the latter cause who wants to knit  6 billion st on size 0 needles? Not me that’s for sure!

3 weeks later here we have my new thermal.

 

(I wish I had a better waist *cries* and also that I had adjusted my left arm so it sat on my shoulder!)
Pattern: Thermal
         Yarn: Knit Picks Gloss
   Needle:US 3 circs
                                                                       Mods: Added 2 inches to the length because 14″ on any large busted person is just poor design math. Did the arm holes for 9″ instead of 7″ and left off the placket.
                                                        
Verdict
:Can I say that I absolutely love this sweater? I don’t know. I think this sweater will get a TON of use, it’s light weight, and warm, I like the low neck and the color. Everyone I know has gone crazy over this stitch pattern and it is quite lovely. This is a sweater that will be worn to rags but I don’t know that I love it as much as my others.  I’m glad I knit it, but I’m glad it’s behind me.

One thing I wish I would have done is raised the neck and not had so many decreases on the front 2 panels. This is not my neckline. Not in the least. I’m a deep V kinda gal. I have to wear something under this because well, with out it…well I would probably be revealing a little TOO much boobage for the public. So I’m thinking probably a cami instead of a t-shirt.
I also haven’t blocked this yet so I may still get some + ease which I don’t really need but even more length would be nice. Again it’s a little on the short side. *sigh* I may still grow to love this sweater. I’m just not sure yet. I think it will be much used, but I wouldn’t knit it for a 4th time that’s for sure! 🙂

I was told I had to add this last one. The Mr thinks that all my pictures are “nice” but not really “you” ie, me. So he goofed around till I broke out laughing. Yeah, this is classic. I’m that girl that laughs to loud & to much. My niece went through a state of throwing her head back & chortling this last winter. I wonder where she saw that?

9 thoughts on “Thermal

  1. Well I think that your Thermal turned out awesomely! I like the colour on you and the fit is good. I would have probably lifted the neckline a little too, but hey, it’s D-O-N-E! Congratulations!

    And tell the Mr that the last pic of you is THE BEST!

  2. Your thermal looks great and I would have added length too, what’s with all the short sweaters! I don’t get it.

    I think the last picture is the best also!

  3. The Mr captured the best moment of you in the picture! It’s a beautiful thermal and I admire your patience to give it three strikes!

  4. Will you post a pic after you block it? I have read that the Gloss changes a lot after it meets water. As I recall it changed mostly by stretching out so that people’s too short sweaters became either perfect or too long so I have my fingers crossed that yours becomes perfect.

    Gauge is impossible on this project. At least it was for me, I didn’t bother to really check it though and just tried it on a few times to determine the appropriate size. Mmm… Trial + Error. However, I used sock yarn which doesn’t change much with blocking so I feel like this was allowable.

    Finally: Congratulations on finishing this sweater!!! I know you knit fast but I CANNOT believe you knit this sweater 3 times! It has taken me 1.5 years just to knit the body and a sleeve!!!!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

